War Diaries Talk

Choice

• alfredadams by alfredadams

I realise this might not be an easy ask but would there be any way you could choose a unit and continue with it? Because I am a nurse, I chose a Field Hospital which to me was riveting. I got used to the Officers names and how the Hospital ran then one day I went back and was thrown into something entirely different. For anyone doing any diary I think gaining familiarity with names, places and handwriting is a great asset and you can work faster. Also I agree with someone elses comment that it could be nice to pick a unit you have a connection with. My grandfather was kia with 243 MGC, how I would love to be working on that!

Posted

• charcinders by charcinders

The idea of "owenership" of a diary is a good one I think, for exactly the reasons you gave, not to mention the fact that you get emotionally involved with the story of the unit. The only rule at the moment is that every diary page is completed once it has been tagged by 7 people, and whenever someone chooses the diary the first available page is given to them. That's why you were dumped out of that diary; every remaining page had been fully tagged. I had a similar experience with my last diary, I was dumped out of it because other people had raced through it. Fortunately the powers that be then changed the number of tags per page from 5 to 7 so I was allowed to finish it.

The way the system works at the moment is not encouraging for those of us who don't have much time to spend on the site. If we start the diary at the beginning we will have been overtaken by 7 "hares" before we get to the end, so we may never get to finish a diary.

I think a better system would be once you have tagged 10 pages you get ownership, and if you don't tag any for a few days you lose ownership and the diary goes up for grabs to anyone. I don't hold out any hope that a system like this will be implemented though.

Posted

• HeatherC by HeatherC moderator