War Diaries Talk

Ammunition Use

• HeatherC by HeatherC moderator

I thought I'd start a bit of a discussion on the use of ammunition. It would be great if people could contribute to this using examples they've found, either relating to the firing or the supply of rifle and machine gun ammunition.

I was inspired to start this after reading this report from 3 Battalion the Machine Gun Corps who during a Divisional operation lasting less than 24 hours fired over 200,000 rounds of machine gun ammunition. I've had some minor experience at moving boxes of ammunition and it seems to me that this is a significant amount to have to get up to the front line for an operation. The same Unit was firing 10 - 20,000 rounds a day at enemy aircraft and on so-called "night harassing fire"

And apparently a box containing a 250 round belt of ammunition weighed 22 lbs or 10 kg. I make that 8 tonnes of ammunition for that one 18 hour operation. This is for the Vickers Machine Gun of course.

Anyone got any other ammunition facts to share?

Posted

The ammunition belt for the Vickers was constructed from cloth and was 20 feet (6.1 metres) long.

So when the Unit I am tagging fired 200,000 rounds in less than 24 hours, they used 800 belts, which took 16,000 feet or just over 3 miles of cloth! In a country where resources were becoming scarce, I was wondering how they sustained this kind of use. I have seen entries relating to the salvage of materials from the battlefield and wonder if they also salvaged and sent back the used cloth belts and the wooden ammunition boxes.

Anyone tagging a supply regiment got anything about the supply of ammunition?

Posted

• brecon_beacons by brecon_beacons

Heather -