War Diaries Talk

Why can't I tag places / activities / other units / etc in Orders pages? [Because we are interested in what actually happened]

• lukesmith by lukesmith moderator

The tags available in Orders are limited as we are interested in what the units reported as happening to them. Not what they were told to do. We are interested in people named in orders and a limited set of other information.

Field guide: http://www.operationwardiary.org/#/guide/orders

p.s. the same principle applies to 'OTHER' pages -- we are not seeking anything from them.

Posted

• makfai by makfai

Can I ask why you are not interested in them? As a researcher I may be interested in those topics to compare what was in the orders to what happened as recorded in the diaries because, as the saying goes 'they never survive first contact with the enemy!'

Posted

• Maj971 by Maj971

I'm a little frustrated that I am not able to Tag a unit when it is e.g. 'In Reserve' prior to an attack; or the Disposition of Bn Coy's prior to an attack, as well as the Coy Commanders and those officers e.g. i/c of 'bombers' or 'transport' etc. Also, the inclusion of an Other Unit tag for 'To Front' or 'To Rear' would be useful, as would 'Defensive Position' for the primary Unit.

Posted

• HeatherC by HeatherC moderator in response to Maj971's comment.

This is an FAQ about tagging Orders and not the right thread to raise this in. Can you possibly repost it here http://talk.operationwardiary.org/#/boards/BWD0000008/discussions/DWD00001b0

Posted

• itsmestephanie by itsmestephanie

I agree with the general sentiment expressed here. A lot more information can and should be tagged from these pages. One day someone will come along, realise the huge opportunity/potential that was missed in this first project, will try to re-launch it with proper tags, and will find nobody prepared to read the pages all over again.